Salmon Gets Historic Appointment

Vice President of Antigua & Barbuda Football Association, Gwen Salmon.
Spread the love

ST JOHN’S, Antigua – Vice President of Antigua & Barbuda Football Association (ABFA), Gwen Salmon, will go down in the country’s sporting history books after she was selected as a member of the sub-region’s first all-woman Women’s Football Committee.

The committee, which was appointed by president of the Caribbean Football Union (CFU), Gordon “Banks” Derrick, consists of 11 members drawn from eleven countries affiliated to the CFU.

The goal of the committee, according to a CFU release, will be to advise the executive committee of the union by undertaking financial planning and oversight responsibilities by monitoring, reviewing and providing advisory functions in the areas of budget and finances.

The committee will also exchange views on current women’s football topics, in particular, the CFU women’s competitions and the CFU Women’s Calendar, including co-ordination with CONCACAF and FIFA competitions.

Draft recommendations regarding possible modifications to the existing competitions and the regulations governing these competitions, as well as on the implementation of development programmes for women’s football are also on the agenda.

Salmon expressed delight with having been named to the historic committee.

“I am glad that I was recognised as one of the individuals to serve on that committee, the first all-women’s committee, and I am going to do my best to improve the game of football through the CFU as well as doing a lot more for female football here in Antigua & Barbuda,” Salmon said.

“To my personal development it will help me in a positive way because I will also use the experience I have gained and also the experience and what I will learn from interacting with the other members of the committee to take football to the next level so that will help me in improving football in Antigua and also improving myself in the women’s football fraternity,” she added.

The committee will be chaired by Sonia Bien-Aime of Turks & Caicos Islands, while the other members are Diana Claxton-Carty of Anguilla, Sharleen Hengeveld of Aruba, Elaine Walker-Brown of Jamaica, Monique Andre of Haiti, Ana Rabell of Puerto Rico, Jinelle James of Trinidad and Tobago, Chantal Bird of the USVI, Bernadine Andrew of Grenada, and Shequita Parson of Bermuda.

All committee members will be appointed for a period of four years and are all actively involved in football at the local and national level, possess sufficient level of footballing knowledge and laws of the game, and are experts at women’s football development.

Derrick, who announced the new committee at a recent CFU meeting, was unavailable for comment.

The former player, via the press release however, expressed elation over the appointment of the committee.

leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.